What I see when I see the world: Elsterwerda

by Nandia Foteini Vlachou

 

As far back as I can remember, I always walked looking downwards and with hunched shoulders. My mother used to chide me: “Why are you walking like a grocer whose business went south?” (“Τι περπατάς έτσι, σαν ζημιωμένος μπακάλης;”, impossible to accurately translate).

Probably related as a result is the fact that many years ago, counting at least a decade, I started taking photographs of the streets, pavements and other downwards located sites that I stared at so intently. It has made me think how relevant and subjective our experience of viewing the world is. During a period of ever-increasing (mass) tourism, these fragments sometimes strike me as ironic, as if mocking the more recognizable bits of the world. Their intention though was never ironic – neither profound. I just like pavements. And I spend a lot of time looking at them. So, here they are: they won’t help you know anything about the world. But then neither do most photographs.

 

elsterwerda_june 2007

Elsterwerda   © Foteini Vlachou

 

 

